The history department provides several scholarships to our majors.  Information about these scholarships, including who is eligible and how to apply, is available each spring. 

  • Ewing, Monahan, Powers, Probst Scholarship
  • Ernestine Bolin History Scholarship
  • Morgan Sisters History Scholarship
  • Rebecca Jane Fisher Chapter of Daughters of the Republic of Texas

Students in our Phi Alpha Theta chapter are also able to apply to awards through the national organization.

Finally, history majors are also eligible for the Perkins-Prothro Scholarship, which provides scholarships to outstanding students majoring in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

We are grateful to generous donors and organizations that make these scholarships possible.

Departmental & University Awards

The history department also recognizes students through campus-wide awards.  Recent winners include:

  • Carlos Torres – President’s Medal for Excellence, 2022
  • Shane Huizenga – Outstanding History Student, 2022
  • Nathan Endo – Outstanding History Student, 2021
  • Kory Williams – Outstanding Graduate Student in Humanities and Social Sciences, 2021