Hazlewood Exemption Information for Veterans

Texas Veterans

Qualifications:

  • Military Veterans, who at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces:
    • Were Texas residents, OR
    • Designated Texas as his or her Home of Record, OR
    • Entered military service in Texas

NOTE: This information must be annotated on the service member’s DD 214. Veterans whose DD 214 does not contain this information, and who believe they are eligible, may contact the MSU Veterans Affairs Office for information on documentation that is appropriate in determining residency at time of entry onto active duty.

  • Served at least 181 days of active military duty, excluding initial entry training, as indicated as "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214)
  • Received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions
  • Must meet one of the following:
    • Are not eligible to receive federal Veteran's education benefits, OR
    • Have federal Veterans education benefits not dedicated to payment of tuition and fees only, OR
    • Have federal Veterans’ education benefits that only cover a portion of tuition and fees (less than 100% Post 911 GI Bill® benefits)
  • Are not in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas
  • Reside in the State of Texas during the semester
  • Currently are serving on active duty (or spouse is active duty) and can submit active duty orders showing assignment outside of the state.  An LES must also be submitted annotating Texas as the state of residency.
  • Are Undergraduate students and have a 2.0 GPA
  • Are Graduate students and have a 3.0 GPA
  • Are not in an Excessive Credit Hours status

Benefit Description:

  • Exempts students from paying resident tuition and fees, minus the Student Service Fee and any fees incurred by a student not related to a course (parking, room and board, late fees, etc.).
  • Veteran is eligible to receive 150 semester credit hours of tuition and fees exemption.
  • A Veteran may reassign all or part of his or her hours to a biological, adopted, or step child who is 25 years of age or younger. (See Children of Texas Veterans (Legacy))
  • Students may use the exemption for as many or as few courses per semester as they wish.

Apply

 

Children of Texas Veterans (Legacy)

Qualifications:

  • The children of a military Veteran, who at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces:
    • Was a Texas Resident, OR
    • Designated Texas as his or her Home of Record, OR
    • Entered military service in Texas

NOTE: This information must be annotated on the service member’s DD 214. Veterans whose DD 214 does not contain this information, and who believe they are eligible, may contact the MSU Veterans Affairs Office for information on documentation that is appropriate in determining residency at time of entry onto active duty.

  • Served at least 181 days of active military duty, excluding initial entry training, as indicated as "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214)
  • Received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions

The Legacy child using the Hazlewood Act exemption must be:

  • the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year
  • residing in the State of Texas during the semester. The Veteran must also reside in the State of Texas while the child is using the exemption
  • 25 years old or younger on the first day of the semester for which the exemption is being used (unless granted an extension due to qualifying illness or debilitating condition)
  • Must meet one of the following:
    • Are not eligible to receive federal Veteran's education benefits, OR
    • Have federal Veterans education benefits not dedicated to payment of tuition and fees only, OR
    • Have federal Veterans’ education benefits that only cover a portion of tuition and fees (less than 100% Post 911 GI Bill® benefits)
  • Are not in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas
  • Are Undergraduate students and have a 2.0 GPA
  • Are Graduate students and have a 3.0 GPA
  • Are not in an Excessive Credit Hours status

Benefit Description:

  • Exempts students from paying resident tuition and fees, minus the Student Service Fee and any fees incurred by a student not related to a course (parking, room and board, late fees, etc.).
  • The student is eligible to receive 150 semester credit hours of tuition and fees exemption.
  • A Veteran may reassign all or part of their hours to a biological, adopted, or step child who is 25 years of age or younger.
  • Students may use the exemption for as many or as few courses per semester as they wish.
  • Multiple children may be authorized to use the Veteran’s hours, but only one student, including the Veteran, may use the exemption at a time. The total combined hours used cannot exceed 150.
  • Veterans' spouses are not eligible to receive a transfer of unused hours.

Apply

 

Spouses and Children of Disabled or Deceased Texas Veterans

Qualifications:

  • The child or spouse of a military Veteran, who at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces:
    • Was a Texas Resident, OR
    • Designated Texas as his or her Home of Record, OR
    • Entered military service in Texas

NOTE: This information must be annotated on the service member’s DD 214. Veteran’s DD 214 that does not contain this information, and who believe they are eligible, may contact the MSU Veterans Affairs Office for information on documentation that is appropriate in determining residency at time of entry onto active duty.

  • Served at least 181 days of active military duty, excluding initial entry training, as indicated as "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214)
  • Received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions
  • Has received a rating of Total and Permanent Disability or meets the eligibility requirements for individual unemployability from the Department of Veteran Affairs
  • Is deceased and cause of death was either Killed in Action or documented as a result of a service connected disability
  • Is determined by the Department of Defense as Missing in Action

 The spouse or child using the Hazlewood Act exemption must:

  • be the spouse, biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year (or last year of the Veteran’s life)
  • reside in the State of Texas during the semester. The Veteran does not have to reside in the State of Texas while the student is using the exemption
  • Must meet one of the following:
    • Are not eligible to receive federal Veteran's education benefits, OR
    • Have federal Veterans education benefits not dedicated to payment of tuition and fees only, OR
    • Have federal Veterans’ education benefits that only cover a portion of tuition and fees (less than 100% Post 911 GI Bill® benefits)
  • Are not in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas.
  • Are Undergraduate students and have a 2.0 GPA (Does not apply if Veteran is deceased or classified as MIA)
  • Are Graduate students and have a 3.0 GPA (Does not apply if Veteran is deceased or classified as MIA)
  • Are not in an Excessive credit hours status (Does not apply if Veteran is deceased or classified as MIA)

Benefit Description:

  • Exempts students from paying resident tuition and fees, minus the Student Service Fee and any fees incurred by a student not related to a course (parking, room and board, late fees, etc.).
  • The student is eligible to receive 150 semester credit hours of tuition and fees exemption. Each child and the spouse receives an exemption of 150 hours. These hours are not shared between the students.
  • Students may use the exemption for as many or as few courses per semester as they wish.

Apply

.

 

 

 

Application Process

In order to use Hazlewood benefits or to transfer unused benefits to an eligible child, applicants must complete the application form below.

Hazlewood Exemption Application

Required Supporting Documents:

  • Students applying for the Hazlewood Act Exemption must provide proof (DD214, Member-4 or Service-2 copy) from the Department of Defense regarding the service member’s military service and nature of discharge.
  • Dependents must provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI Bill® benefits (Chapter 33/Post 911) by requesting an education benefits letter from the VA office in Muskogee, OK at (888) 442-4551 or gibill.va.gov.
  • Dependents requesting Hazlewood benefits due to the disability of the service member must provide a VA Rating Decision Letter.
  • Dependents requesting Hazlewood benefits due to the death of the service member must provide a letter from the VA indicating the Veteran’s death was service-related.
  • Dependents requesting Hazlewood benefits due to the death of the service member who died while on active duty must provide a DD Form 1300, Report of Casualty.
  • All applicants must complete the appropriate application (see links above) and submit it to the MSU Veterans Affairs office located in Hardin South, Room 100A.

Important:

  1. It is your responsibility to call our office to verify your Hazlewood status before payment deadline; call (940) 397-4306 or email veterans.affairs@msutexas.edu
  2. The Hazlewood Act exempts you from tuition, building use fees, course fees, computer use fees, and any added incidental fees. You will pay the student service fees, property deposit fees, vehicle registration, and late registration fees, if applicable.
  3. You must contact the Business Office after you have submitted your Hazlewood request form and the exemption has been applied to your account.  They can advise you of the amount not covered by the Hazlewood exemption and for which you are responsible.  You must call and have Hazlewood benefits applied by the payment deadline or your registration will be voided for non-payment.
  4. You must complete a new Hazlewood Exemption Application for each semester you plan to use the Hazlewood waiver.  It is best to complete this form immediately after registering for your courses.

  1. CHECK ON YOUR Hazlewood STATUS BEFORE PAYMENT DEADLINE DATES.
  2. ADVISE THE MSU BUSINESS OFFICE AFTER YOU HAVE REGISTERED FOR CLASSES.