Second Court of Appeals

The Second Court of Appeals will hold court at MSU in Wichita Falls, Texas

October 12, 2021

Case One, 1:00 pm; Case Two, 2:00 pm

Akin Auditorium, MSU

Click here for more information on the Oct. 12, 2021 proceedings.

The Second Court of Appeals generally presides in Fort Worth, Texas; however, on occasion, the court will preside in other counties within its jurisdiction for the convenience of parties, attorneys, and the public. The public is invited to attend these proceedings and observe appellate arguments. Following the proceedings at MSU, the justices will take questions from students and community members regarding the court structure and law school.

Established in 1892, the Second Court of Appeals hears civil and criminal appeals from the trial courts in twelve north central Texas counties: Archer, Clay, Cooke, Denton, Hood, Jack, Montague, Parker, Tarrant, Wichita, Wise and Young. The court consists of a chief justice and six justices, but hears the majority of its cases in three judge panels.