Welcome to MSU Texas!

On Your First Day

Once you've been offered employment by your department, please make sure to return the following forms to Human Resources and Payroll to activate your employment status. 

Human Resources

  • Form I-9 (Complete Section I of the Form I-9 - In order to work on campus, the University must verify eligibility to work in the United States.  Employees must bring forms of identification within 3 days of the start date to avoid termination. Please reference the Form I-9 for a full list of acceptable documents.
  • Background Check Release Form
  • Social Security Card - For Payroll purposes, employees must be able to present a copy of his/her original social security card even if you choose not to use this card to complete your I-9. If you do not have a social security card, please locate the nearest Social Security office. Employees will NOT be paid until the social security card has been presented to Human Resources.
  • Legal Notices for all new employees

Return the Form I-9 and work documents to Human Resources located in Hardin Administration Bldg., Room 210.

Payroll

  • New employees will need to set up tax information, direct deposit & Time Clock Plus set up.  Please send forms to the Payroll office located in Hardin Admin., Bldg., Room 209 or email kelly.fuller@msutexas.edu

New Adjunct Hires

Make sure the Provost office receives:

  • The Employee Recommendation form
  • Vita
  • Faculty Academic Prep form
  • All higher ed transcripts (paper copies, not electronic) - send directly to Renee McAfee from the University:

Midwestern State University
Renee McAfee - Office of the Provost
3410 Taft Blvd.
Wichita Falls, TX 76308

In addition to the information listed above, new employees will receive notification on the following:

  • Computer/Email access – once your employment is set up with Human Resources, your hiring department will send notification to IT (if required). Check your personal email for log in access.
  • Parking Hang Tag - if you are bringing a vehicle to campus, register and go online to pay for your reserved hang tag. Contact MSU Payroll if you plan on setting up a payroll deduction.    
  • MSU Mandatory Employee Training -  State Law (Chapter 21, Section 21 Texas Labor Code) requires all state employees be trained within 30 days of their start date and every two years after on EEO, Ethics, Sexual Harassment, Child Protection, and the Campus SaVE Act.
    These policies and trainings define your rights and duties as an employee. It also covers the state and federal laws that support them. 

Part time employees cannot work more than 19 hours a week.  Part time employees authorized by the hiring department to work over 19, must be limited to 29 hours per week and only for 60 days.  Beyond the 60 day window, per ACA, employment of 30+ hours per week leads to possible insurance eligibility with a full state contribution.  Upon an audit, there may be penalties of $2000 per employee in violation. Temporary employment of over 20 per week for more than 4.5 months will make the employee TRS eligible.   Click here to view work hour limit guidelines.


Questions, contact Human Resources at 940-397-4221, Payroll 940-397-4230, or Office of the Provost 940-397-4226