Return-to-Campus Task Force Announcement

To prepare for our intended return to in-person operations this fall, I’ve asked Dr. Johnston and Dr. Lamb to co-chair a task force on reopening campus. This work will begin immediately with the intention of preparing the campus for a phased opening. The broad representation and perspective of the  task force will allow us to address the most pressing questions first, such as when and how staff return to campus and how we redefine roles that we believe should remain as telecommuting roles for a longer period of time. 

It is likely that multiple perspectives will be required to complete the work of this task force, so if you are called for additional input and expertise, please respond positively to such requests. We will need to wisely use the limited time between now and the beginning of the fall semester to plan and prepare for a safe return to campus for all.

Through established communication channels, we will keep the campus informed on progress and plans. The gradual roll out of each step in opening the campus more completely will be the result of this task force and notice to all involved will be given as plans are finalized.

Members of the Return-to-Work Task Force:

  • Dr. James Johnston, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Co-Chair
  • Dr. Keith Lamb, Vice President for Student Affairs, Co-Chair
  • Fred Dietz, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Dr. Marcy Brown-Marsden, Dean, McCoy College of Science, Mathematics & Engineering
  • Dr. Jeff Killion, Dean, Gunn College of Health Sciences & Human Services
  • Dr. Keith Williamson, Medical Director, Vinson Health Center
  • Dr. Beverly Stiles, Chair & Professor, Sociology
  • Dr. Matthew Luttrell, Associate Professor, Music
  • Dr. Pam Morgan, Director, Academic Outreach & Distance Education
  • Kyle Owen, Associate Vice President for Facilities Services
  • Chris Stovall, Controller
  • Angie Reay, Director, Recreational Sports & Wellness Center
  • Kristi Schulte, Director, Residence Life & Housing
  • Randy Canivel, Director, Flower Mound Student Learning Center
  • Dawn Fisher, Director, Human Resources
  • Shelbi Stodgill, President, Student Government Association
  • Eric Queller, Student Representative

Again, thank you for your commitment and your resilience.


Suzanne Shipley